kuala lumpur architecture 

Home > Kuala Lumpur > Famous old roads name

What influenced kuala lumpur architecture

After the Kuala Lumpur massive fire in 1881, Frank Swettenham, the resident of Selangor instructed
Yap Ah Loy, one of the founders of Kuala Lumpur, to rebuild traditional attap/wooden houses with bricks
and tiled roofs in mid 1880s. The oldest shophouses can be found aiong High Street as it was first known, now renamed as Jalan Tun H.S. Lee.

These traditional commercial centers portray unique 'styles adapted from Chinese, Malay
and European architecture elements. The typical Chinese Shophouses were built in rows and shared
common party wall between with imported orange clay roof tiles from China. Each shophouse was long
and narrow, approximately 20ft by 80ft. It's a combination of a store at the front, while the owner's living
quarter above or at the rear. An open court-yard located in the middle of the building was to provide
natural lights and ventilation. All shophouses were required to have verandah walk way or in Malay
language called/'kaki lima" at least five feet in width which enables pedestrians to walk in the shade,
shelter from rain, and vehicular traffic.

The British residential system spread rapidly and Frank Swettenham chose Kuala Lumpur as his
administrative centre to oversea the rebirth of the city. In 1896, the city became the capital and centre of
British colonialism.

Malaysia Kuala Lumpur old road names


Information Search here
Custom Search

Home | Contact Us | Map Request | Submit Info |
Power By